The Ellises

As you can see to the right, my name is Kylee. I’m a rather bohemian Navy wife and mama from Arkansas. I’m 5’11 with big blue eyes, too pale skin, and often fire-engine-red-dyed hair (naturally, I’m a brunette). I am the very proud mother of Bodhi (January 2016) and the crazy aunt of Carmella (June 2012), Kole (June 2012), Sam (June 2014), Gracie (January 2015), and Blue Bundle (joining February 2017). I’m slowly covering myself in tattoos and I have eight piercings (two of which are in my face). I love tie dye and “old lady” flower prints, super soft blankets, warm soup, and a good book.

Simply, I like to drive fast, smile often, and laugh too loudly. I spend my free time writing and dreaming up adventures in far-flung places. I hate wearing shoes. I have an absolute weakness for men with tattoos and wide grins, also for fresh flowers. Earrings are my staple accessory. I love sleeping in, taking pictures, drinking overly-sugared Earl Grey tea, and anything vintage or re-purposed.

I enjoy the quiet, peaceful beauty of nature and the feeling of the sun on my skin. I like decent tequila (always silver, never gold) and organic food (when we can afford it). I try to stay clear-headed and open-minded, I wear a lot of long skirts, and I make a mean cup of hot cocoa (complete with whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles).

I collect funny fridge magnets and interesting coffee mugs, my favorite flowers are daisies, and I never use the last little bit of anything in a bottle. I absolutely love anything old/southern like screened-in porches with haint-blue-painted ceilings, or spirit bottles hanging in trees. I can’t stand being cold (I ALWAYS have a blanket nearby) and I hate washing dishes by hand.

When my husband receives his first duty station, he has asked me to be a stay-at-home mom for a while so I can truly (and finally) spend quality time with our son. Since I’m not very good at… Sitting down and not doing things, I plan to return to school (more than likely online) to get a degree in Journalism, with a minor in Creative Writing (or perhaps, vice versa.)

I publish my articles here and my photography here!

He is Jarrett. He’s 6’1 with reddish-brown hair (which can only be seen via his very handsome beard) and brown eyes with plenty of green thrown in. He’s goofy, forgetful, sweet, polite, caring. charismatic, and very intelligent. Did I mention hilarious? He makes me laugh every single day. He is obviously an amazing dad to our son Bodhi and the proud uncle of Carmella (June 2012) and Samson (June 2014).

I could spend the rest of forever sitting in the armchair next to his, watching the military movies he likes so much and listening to him tell me about whatever he’s currently excited about, whether it’s guns (his favorite subject), or the plans we are making for the future.

He has five tattoos currently, two less than me. He likes that I’m a bit of a hippie and listens to me when I talk way too much, one of my most horrible habits. We have the same taste in music, in food, and in adventures.

He likes Irish whiskey (usually Jameson) and prefers chicken to red meat. He’s a “mountain-man” with absolutely no interest in big cities. He has an incredibly loyal heart and a deep sense of obligation to take care of the ones he loves. He dislikes pickles, people who “bitch and moan about everything”, and seeing me sick, or upset when there’s nothing he can do to fix it. My pregnancy was NOT easy on him, but he’s always such a trooper.

Very recently my handsome man joined the United States Navy as a Corpsman. Being in the military was ALWAYS his life goal and I am incredibly proud of him for finally pursuing it. He was even the Battalion Commander of his ROTC class in high school.

We also want to breed German Shepherds, and maybe Belgian Malinois to become military or police K-9s, service/therapy dogs, or cherished family pets.

Our wee one, Bodhi, was born ten days before his due date in January 2016. I had no idea that you could love another human as much as I love him. I honestly can’t tell you what I was doing before I became a mom. It’s all a big blur in my head.

We co-sleep, breastfeeding didn’t work out for us (he didn’t like the positioning, the little turkey…), and he’s currently a vegetarian, which we plan on continuing for the foreseeable future. When it’s time to introduce meat, it’ll probably be venison that was hunted in our area by Jarrett, or other family. Store-bought meat gives us the heebie-jeebies.

So far, his favorite things are watching cartoons in the mornings, being naked, cheek kisses, Mama singing, orange foods (sweet potatoes, pumpkin, carrots, etc.), being as lazy as possible, chewing on his pudgy hands, and rattles.

He doesn’t like going to bed early, sitting up by himself, squash (unless mixed with something else), the quiet, sitting in a car while it isn’t moving, getting hot, and eating real food when he’s any kind of sleepy.

 

The actual blog is over here!